Four!

I really wanted to type this up last night but ye gods – this workout took a lot out of me.  I have started to experiment a bit more with my diet (which I’ll cover in a later post), using the n=1 … philosophy? method?  I’m not quite sure what to call it, but it basically means I’m self-experimenting to figure out what kind of dietary requirements are best for me.

I added in a few more non-sugar/non-grain carbs in the form of an EightFold Eats Almond Butter and Carob bar yesterday.  Half before I worked out, and half after.  The half after seemed to do me more good than the half before, that’s for sure.  I was so shaky and weak after the workout that it brought me back to normal.

I’m toying with the idea of consulting with a Dietitician to see what they think of my current diet, but I might do a bit more of the n=1 experimenting for a while to see if I can figure it out on my own.

The workout was, in a word, intense.  We had the same warmup as Monday which was challenging but doable.  Then we went into the WOD, no strength or skills.

The Rx was as follows:

  • 1200m run 
  • 6x rounds:
    • 15x thrusters (95/65)
    • 15 x C2B (Chest to Bar pullups)
  • 300 DU 

I ran for 900m before the coach called me in – I was a fair bit behind the rest of the group and our allotted 10 mins was up.  I told him that I was determined to not be last one day, and right now that’s my goal.  To not be last. :

My Thrusters I used a ladies bar + 5 lbs, and because I’m still building upper body strength I’m stuck with ring rows for the time being.  I got through 3 rounds of these in the allotted 20 mins

I still can’t do a double under to save my life, so I did single skips for the last 5 mins with everyone else, and every 10th skip I would try a DU.  At one point I forgot to try the DU and ended up skipping 30x in a row.  A small PR, but a PR nonetheless 🙂

The whole class was on the floor after our stretches making some serious sweat angels after we were done.  A good, intense workout.

I went home afterwards and essentially flopped on the couch, unable to move.  I was so drained and devoid of energy.  I rested for a bit and then figured I should eat something, but I was pretty full from all of the water I’d consumed, so I ate some cheese and called it a night.

I was originally signed up for tonight’s class but think I’m going to go home and take it easy.  I’m feeling particularly worn out this week and think that sleep will do me more favours than another workout.

 

Leave a Reply

