Week three wrap up

Today begins week four, but I realized this morning I hadn’t posted anything about Wednesday’s or Friday’s workouts.

That’s right – I made it a FULL THREE DAYS last week!

I seem to be on track with my diet as far as pre-WOD nutrition goes.  I no longer feel like I’m going to fall over or pass out in the middle of a workout because I’m lightheaded – adding in a few more carbs seemed to do the trick.  Next up is to experiment in to how low I can get them and not feel like I’m woozy after doing deadlifts.

Speaking of Deadlifts – I’m in love.  My body seems to be built for lifting heavy things with my legs.  I did them a bit when I was doing the Stronglifts 5×5 program but I wasn’t doing them right.  Now that I’m doing them correctly, they feel better and my body is responding appropriately.

My presses need work.  If my body weight were in the normal range, I’m sure my arms would resemble a stick insect 🙂  I’m getting stronger slowly, but I still feel like I’ve got a long way to go.

I also realized last week that I’ve started to compare myself with others that are much fitter than I am, having been doing CrossFit for much longer.  Note to self – knock that shit off.

I ordered a WOD book from Amazon in advance of my trainer getting some in.  Looking forward to getting this down on paper instead of taking photos w/my phone 🙂

I also learned this weekend that diet pop (yes, pop, I’m Canadian 🙂 ) is no longer my friend.  I have been abstaining for ages but on Saturday night I said “screw it” and drank one.  About an hour later and for the entire following day (yesterday) my sugar/carb cravings were out of control.  I got plenty of sleep this weekend and ate healthy for all of Saturday leading up to the crack of the can, which means that I’m done with diet pop. If you’ve ever struggled with addiction of any kind (I’m a former smoker, so I’m drawing my parallels from that experience), you may be able to relate to the siren song of your addiction even though your logical brain is telling you “no” at the time.  My sugar siren song kicked into high gear and, unfortunately, I gave in 😦

Today is a new day, though, and the offending food I purchased is gone.  I threw some of it away after my logical brain kicked in and realized what I was doing.  Into the garbage disposal it went and I felt immediately better.

Today I go in for another workout, and I’m hoping that yesterday’s food indiscretion doesn’t hinder today’s performance.

Leave a Reply

