(Late) Monday wrap up – week 5!

Week 5 is in the bag!

I’m a bit late getting this post up – I’m really going to try and get my weekly wrapups done on Mondays for the previous week. My day job got busy yesterday and I had some construction going on in my apartment to boot.

Week 5. Wow. I’ve been doing this now for 5 weeks in a row. I’m kind of surprised I’ve lasted this long, to be honest. I’m loving it and I hope that never changes.

I left the box this week each time feeling fantastic, as compared to previous weeks when I’ve felt more exhausted than when I walk in.

I was pretty tired last week, and was pretty convinced I wanted to skip out on class a couple of the days. I”m really glad I didn’t though, because each time I left the class I would feel better than when I walked in 🙂

I got a PR last week too! I was doing 95lbs DL – huzzah! This is more than I was doing when I was doing the StrongLifts 5×5 program. I’m pretty stoked about this.

Wednesday’s class was simple looking, until you got right down to it. The movements themselves were simple. 200m Row, 20 pushups w/ a bumper plate on your back. 10lbs for women, 25 for the guys. 10 rounds of this. Yikes.

I thought I was going to die at around the 6 round mark but somehow I managed to find the energy to complete the whole workout *and* not hold up my partner. 🙂 I did push myself outside of my comfort zone in order to do this, maybe that’s what the coach had in mind? 🙂

Friday’s was an AMRAP of 10kb snatches, 10GHD situps, 10 kb push jerks & an 80′ bear crawl. I was using the 22# kbs because the 35s still feel too heavy for me. Perhaps next time I can use the 35s and deload if I feel the need 🙂

My biggest positives this week was physical evidence that my body has changed. I tried on some clothing that wouldn’t have fit a few months ago and bam – not only did it fit but I was fitting into the size smaller too! This is good news 🙂

I’ve got a long way to go, I think, but I’m definitely on my way. I can’t wait to see more changes, and I really can’t wait to see the scale move! I’ve been stuck at the same weight (give or take 2lbs) for about 3 weeks now, despite my diet being completely dialed in. Low Carb/Keto on non-workout days, and a few extra carbs in the form of fruit (or a LaraBar) + a nutritional shake on workout days.

Next up is improving my sleep. Quantity as well as quality, but more on that in another post.

How were your workouts last week? Leave me a comment!!

Leave a Reply

